Treat Yourself

After my last post, kind of explaining a radical change in my thinking, lifestyle, and heart. I thought I’d share some of my personal favorite and effective ways that I take care of and treat myself. 
I mentioned how self love is different than self care, and I’m mainly focusing on the act of self care here. The feel goods, and what fills us up.

Self care as defined by Psych Central:

“Self-care is any activity that we do deliberately in order to take care of our mental, emotional, and physical health. Although it’s a simple concept in theory, it’s something we very often overlook. Good self-care is key to improved mood and reduced anxiety. It’s also key to a good relationship with oneself and others.”

So in essence, self care is a major and key component to a balanced self. Your complete well being as a whole will improve when you make a tiny shift in behavior towards yourself, I promise. Not only does it help you in your everyday life but it helps the way you are towards others. Self care is not selfish, you cannot serve from an empty vessel. (Eleanor Brownn) Everybody will have different activities or things they do that help themselves specifically, which is fair, because we are all unique and require different actions for self care. Though you may be inspired to try something new if you read what others do for themselves. 

One of the most crucial things I can invite someone to do when taking care of oneself is to be MINDFUL. (Even when not focusing on self care, practice being mindful in all that you do) Some of these are very simple things so you might think that its common sense or good hygiene but being mindful and conscious of what we are doing everyday makes a world of difference. Be aware of what you are doing, why you are doing it, how it makes you feel. The daily tasks have more meaning. 

Here is a list of mine; 

  • Cleaning and pampering my body with face masks, face oil, lotion, bath salts, body wash, exfoliating scrub, essential oils, etc. (This could be a whole blog post on its own and I will do a product post soon, I LOVE THIS STUFF)
  • Eating a nutritious breakfast and making it look like a nice, cute cafe would make it look. Decorate my plate, make it special for myself. 
  • Drink a cup of coffee and sit outside with no phone when I wake up, take a moment to reflect on my day before and how I’m going to do better today.
  • Stretch, do yoga and simple workouts, to move and remind me that my body is strong and able. 
  • Read a book; indulge in a fiction story or read a non fiction self help, spiritual, or travel book to inspire, encourage and help me question and inquire within myself.
  • Make any sort of art; sketch, color, paint, create. It gets me out of my head and let’s me express my creative and imaginative energy.
  • Daily affirmations and gratitude challenge; write or say three things that I am proud of myself for and three things I am grateful for that have nothing to do with myself.
  • Drink water, take vitamins, take a shot of Isagenix cleanse for life.
  • Brush my teeth and floss. 
  • Wash bed sheets and comforter with lavender detergent and dryer sheets. It’s so soothing.
  • Go to sleep at a decent hour and get a full 8 hours of sleep.
  • Be silly, laugh at myself, laugh with someone else.
  • Listen to music, sing my heart out, dance.
  • Have a glass of wine, a mimosa or a beer.
  • Stay in touch; talk to my friends and family, tell them I love them, ask how they are, randomly tell them to have a wonderful day, etc. 
  • Breathing deeply.
  • Write out goals, bullet journal to do lists and tasks that aren’t necessarily fun to make it more fun, and get to cross it off the list.
  • Pray, meditate, and be conscious and let myself be present in the moment. Reflect, and resolve issues I’m dealing with. 
  • Freeze some yogurt, or make nice cream (pinterest has great recipes!)
  • Get outside! Take a walk or hike, surround myself with nature, swim in a lake, sit under the trees, lay in the grass, pick flowers.
  • Literally treat myself; Buy a chocolate bar, coffee, smoothie, ice cream. Whatever I want, in moderation of course.
  • Plan something fun to look forward to; go see a movie, go pick out a new outfit, go get dinner, buy concert tickets, etc.
  • Switch up routine; do something I don’t do often.
  • Unplug; put away all electronics for an hour, or two, or more.
  • Get some sun.
  • Take a nap.
  • Bake or cook a fancy dinner.
  • Declutter space; minimize the junk and things piling up that will never be used.
  • Get out of comfort zone; talk to someone new, strike up a conversation with your cashier, etc.
  • Cry. Whether happy or sad or grateful or angry tears, sometimes you need a good cry.
  • Read quotes about inspiration, adventure, life, love, determination, everything. Reading other people’s words, seeing their perceptions and outlooks on subjects is beautiful.
  • Brush my hair, trim the ends, put leave in conditioner in it.
  • Burn a candle, or incense.
  • Watch a movie that I love even if I’ve already watched it 100 times, or watch a new movie. Watch a Disney movie, or binge on a whole Netflix series.
  • Dogs! Kiss em, pet em, look at em, love em!

Those are the ones I can think of right now that help me personally, and I can definitely see a difference in myself when I don’t take the time to do these. Its extremely helpful to make sure I am practicing all of this so that I can be the best that I can be to myself, my boyfriend, my friends, my family, and others. I don’t get to do all of these every single day but the minuscule things you do differently, even one a day, will fuel change in your life. Every one has their own rhythm and their own drum to beat to. Do what makes you feel good. You’ll delight in the ordinary, and keep yourself in tune. 

With love, Bee

QUOTES

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson 

“Nourishing yourself in a way that helps you blossom in the direction you want to go is attainable, and you are worth the effort.” -Deborah Day

“When you recover or discover something that nourishes your soul and brings joy, care enough about yourself to make room for it in your life.” – Jean Shinoda Bolen


PONDERINGS;

What do you do to treat yourself? How can you change one activity you do everyday to be more positive and promote self care? What nourishes your body, mind, spirit? Are you spending time on yourself? If you don’t give yourself the time of day, could you full-heartedly and truly give time and energy to somebody else? 

    Leave a Reply

    